This topic describes how to remove or hide a web part. Most web parts can be minimized, closed, or deleted.
To remove or hide a web part:
If you select Minimize when the web part Chrome Type is set to None, the web part will remain invisible until the page is in Edit Mode - this is often the best option for simple web parts, as it makes it very easy for you to bring them back.
The options available depend on the web part, for example, certain BrightWork Web parts (BrightWork Reporter, List Gantt View, List Chart View, Web Hierarchy) cannot be closed- you must delete them. This is because these web parts continue to perform and use server resources (e.g. execute queries etc) when closed.